Select Page


Local Governing Body

The school’s Local Governing Body would like to pass on their thanks and congratulations to the students and staff on an excellent set of examination results. They represent a great deal of diligence and hard work which has paid off with the school’s best ever GCSE results and  some pleasing outcomes for the 6th Form leavers.

What is the role of the Local Governing Body?

The Local Governing Body (LGB) is a team of local volunteers with an interest in the school who bring their differing experiences to the running of the school.

Members of the LGB comprise parents, staff, and community appointees as well as the Headteacher and a Trustee.

Legal accountability for the running of the schools within the CLP Trust rests with the Trustees. The Trustees delegate responsibility for some functions to the LGB to ensure compliance with the vision and ethos of the Trust.

The local Governing Body is responsible for:-

  • Monitoring and being accountable for standards 
  • Ensuring policies are in place and adhered to
  • Ensuring a balanced curriculum is in place
  • Responsible for staff appointments and appraisals
  • monitoring the quality of teaching and learning
  • Responsible for admissions, exclusions and complaints
  • Agree and monitor the budget ensuring value-for-money
  • Recommend targets and monitoring progress
  • Acting as a critical friend to the school’s leadership team
  • Promoting the interests of the school in the community

Occasionally vacancies occur on the LGB if so these are advertised by letter or Parent Mail. Parent vacancies are filled by election and Community Governors by agreement of the LGB. Anyone interested in joining should contact the Chair of Governors or the Clerk 

Meet the Governors of Roding Valley High School:

  • Paul Wershof | Chair of Governors Co-opted Governor
  • Chrys Perera | Co-opted Governor
  • Tara Preston | Staff Governor
  • Frank Solarz | Maths
  • Lewis Ansell | Parent Governor
  • Richard Bernstein | Parent Governor
  • Margaret James | SEND and Sixth Form
  • Paul Banks | Chief Executive Officer
  • Sharon Jenner | Headteacher
  • Simon Bostock | Leadership & Management and IT/Business/Media
  • Susan Wiseman | Safeguarding, Health & Safety (including catering and trips/visits) and Parental Complaints
  • Tony Barritt | Financial monitoring and Sixth Form
  • Sherron Alexander-Bedingfield | Clerk to the Governors